Comp. 82

for four orchestras (1978)

303 pages of notated music for four orchestras and four conductors. Each orchestra is positioned to have the optimum sonic possibilities for a three dimensional spatial music. All of the musicians are seated on rotating chairs with the addition of television sets for regulation, as well as specially built risers for vertical sound possibilities. Each orchestra has the same instrumentation, that being 2 (pic) 1+1, 2 (sop clar) 1, 2+2+1 b trom + TB, harp, 5+5+5+4+3, and 3 per. The score is written for each instrument as is, rather than in concert pitch.
Oberlin version (255 pages arranged in 1978)

Composition Notes
appears on: